Year in Music 2016: Top 30 Most Listened to Songs

obsessively compiled and curated by me.

30. LIVE, SIK-K, PUNCHNELLO, OWEN OVADOZ, FLOWSIK – EUNG FREESTYLE (응프리스타일)
This was good driving music. I enjoyed the interplay between the rappers, and the beat is sick.

29. M83 – Go! (feat. Mai Lan)
(16th favorite song of 2016)
Lots of radio play, and consistent listens throughout the year.

28. Operators – Mission Creep
I listened to a lot of Blue Wave in spring and early summer. This was one of my favorites from that album.

27. Operators – Rome
Another favorite from Blue Wave.

26. The Smashing Pumpkins – Cherub Rock
I was on a huge Siamese Dream kick this year. The CD didn’t leave my car stereo for a good three months. This song, in particular, is one of my very favorite songs ever.

25. Bring Me the Horizon – Avalanche
I like this song. So sue me.

24. mewithoutYou – Red Cow
(12th most listened to song of 2015, 2nd favorite song of 2015)I’m still listening to this. Hell, this could be on next year’s chart.

23. Car Seat Headrest – Drunk Drivers/Killer Whales
(11th favorite to song of 2016)

22. White Lung – Face Down
Before Paradise came out, I hyped myself up by listening to some of White Lung’s older albums. This song never left the rotation thereafter.

21. Tame Impala – The Less I Know the Better
(favorite song of 2015)
That bassline, am I right?

20. Grimes – Kill V. Maim
B.E.H.A.V.E. AGGRESSIVE!

19. Porches – Be Apart
(27th favorite song of 2016)
I’m actually sort of surprised I listened to this song this much.

18. Harakiri For the Sky – Thanatos
(7th favorite song of 2016)
Another car favorite. Not so much with Caleb in the car, though.

17. Cold War Kids – First
I mean, this is a good song and all, but…isn’t the twinkly guitar melody stolen basically not for note from “The Funeral” by Band of Horses? I should listen to “The Funeral” more next year.

16. Bring Me the Horizon – Doomed
I also like this song. *shrug*

15. Bon Iver – 22 (OVER S∞∞N)
This song’s playcount was heavily helped by the fact that it was one of the two that was on the advance single 22/10. It’s not one of my favorites on 22, a million, but I was ready for some Bon Iver, and this filled the void.

14. Pinegrove – Then Again
(9th favorite song of 2016)This was the first song to catch my ear. The rest of it came along soon enough, but this one was always there.

13. White Lung – Hungry
This was the lead song off Paradise. I actually liked three or four others on the album more.

12. Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker – Shipwreck
This song sort of annoys me. On the one hand, it’s really catchy and filled with punchy fist pumping moments (“I can feeeel it COMING“), on the other, there’s some pretty “meh” lyrics, and I absolutely hate when a song wastes lines in the chorus, and this is one of the most egregious examples I can remember. I listened to this a lot while wishing that it was a better song.

11. Zara Larsson – Lush Life
Number one guilty pleasure of the year by a mile. Would’ve been my favorite “hit song” of the year, but it didn’t really last on the Hot 100 for some reason. I can’t quite put my finger on why this is different from Larsson’s other stuff, but I don’t really like any of that other stuff, and I love this.

10. Falling Up – Flora
(11th favorite song of 2015)
I listened to the Falling Up album a lot this year, and I had this one on the Hotlist all year. Still a great tune.

9. Bon Iver – 10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄ ⚄
(6th favorite song of 2016)
The other half of 22/10, and by far the better song.

8. Massive Attack – Voodoo in My Blood (feat. Young Fathers)
(8th favorite song of 2016)

7. White Lung – Dead Weight
(14th favorite song of the year)
Lead track off one of my favorite albums of the year. ALso one of my favorite songs of the  year.

6. The Strumbellas – Spirits
I listened to this song a ton when it first came out. Soon enough, I sort of got tired of it, but it was on the radio enough to buoy its playcount.

5. White Lung – Kiss Me When I Bleed
(4th favorite song of 2016)
My favorite song from one of my favorite albums. It’s short, it’s punchy, and it begs to be listened to over and over again.

4. Radiohead – Burn the Witch
(4th favorite song of 2016)
I had to have listened to this at least a dozen times the first week I heard it. This song caught my fancy in a way that few have in quite a while.

3. Operators – Cold Light
(2nd favorite song of 2016)
This song slays live.

2. Mitski – Your Best American Girl
(favorite song of 2016)
I said my piece about this song yesterday. It is fairly impressive that it was able to pull down this many plays when I didn’t listen to the album all that much, though. Anymore, I listen to albums more than individual songs, usually (this song and “Spirits” are the only two in the top 10 that I didn’t care for the albums). It’s a special song.

1. Grimes – Flesh Without Blood
(9th favorite song of 2015)
I knew that this was going to be number one from about January 10th. My enjoyment for Art Angels kept going up, and I never stopped listening to it, or this.

Leave a Reply

